ESOL, Hiset en Español, and reading free learning resources

RESOURCES

Free Online Resources for Students and Tutors

Free Pronunciation Videos for ESOL students

HSE Resources

Information from Educational Testing Services, the makers of the HiSET test

HiSET Test Prep:Preparation for the HiSET https://hiset.ets.org/prepare/overview/

Free preparation materials and questions https://hiset.ets.org/resources/prep/

HiSET Study Companion https://hiset.ets.org/s/pdf/study_companion.pdf

 

Free HiSET Practice Tests

www.hisetpracticetest.org

https://www.test-guide.com/

free-hiset-practice-tests.html

https://www.ets-cls.org/hiset/  (login to ets.hiset.org to access)

https://www.mometrix.com/academy/hiset-practice-test/  

 https://uniontestprep.com/hiset-test/practice-test

https://www.essentialed.com/hiset-practice-test 

 

Websites

Science

Science with Mometrix: https://www.mometrix.com/academy/hiset-science/

Science with Khan Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org/science

Science with Learning Science: http://new.learningscience.org/wp/

Math

Math with Khan Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org/math

Kutasoftware.com – math worksheets: https://www.kutasoftware.com/

Math-drills.com – math games: https://www.math-drills.com/

Social Studies/History

World History with Khan Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/world-history

US History with Khan Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/us-history

Big History Project: school.bighistoryproject.com

 

Reading and Writing

Grammar with Khan Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/grammar

Grammar games with chompchomp.com: http://www.chompchomp.com/

Reading comprehension with Readtheory.org

Reading comprehension with commonlit.org (https://www.commonlit.org/en)

Quill – writing activities: https://www.quill.org/teachers/classrooms/assign_activities

 

All subjects

Study Guide: https://uniontestprep.com/hiset-test/study-guide

Mometrix.com: https://www.mometrix.com/academy/hiset-test/

Khan Academy: https://hiset.ets.org/s/pdf/list_free_videos.pdf

We have school accounts and individual classes for websites in italics. Please contact the office for a class code.

 

Apps

Pocketprep app (Apple only): practice HiSET questions

StudyGuideCorp app (Android only) HiSET® Practice Test 2017 Ed

 

Books

The Official Guide to the HiSET Exam by Educational Testing Service

HiSET Exam 2017-2018 Strategies, Practice, and Review by Kaplan Test Prep

 

ESL Resources

Error Correction

YouTube video at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1b3tqm2LbYk

 

Pronunciation

Videos by Jennifer Ledbedev at: http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=81BCA0A2CB139CB7

American English Pronunciation: https://soundsofspeech.uiowa.edu/

Minimal Pairs at: http://www.manythings.org/pp/

Spanish Speaker Issues at: http://www.pronuncian.com/materials/podcasts/SpanishSpeakers.aspx

Sounds of English https://www.soundsofenglish.org/

 

Vocabulary

General Service List at: http://www.jbauman.com/aboutgsl.html

Internet Picture Dictionary at: http://www.pdictionary.com/

Practice Vocabulary at: http://www.manythings.org/e/vocabulary.html

Crossword puzzles at: http://www.manythings.org/e/crosswords.html

Secret Word Game at: http://www.pearsonlongman.com/adult/pdf/secret_word_tn.pdf

Spanish Cognates for Beginners at: http://www.colorincolorado.org/pdfs/articles/cognates.pdf   

Phonics Instruction and Lessons  https://weallcanread.com/

Helpful information for reading, writing, and spelling http://www.bbc.co.uk/skillswise/0/    

Listening

Tales of Mere Existence by Lev Yilmaz.  The episode called “Saturday” is at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdYEkZL9KPM

English as a Second Language Podcast at: http://www.esplod.com/website/

Voice of America Special English website at: https://learningenglish.voanews.com/

The English Learner Movie Guide at: http://eslnotes.com/synopses.html

 

Speaking

Conversation topics and questions at: http://iteslj.org/questions/

Literacy skills  http://www.literacytools.ie/home.cfm

Dave's Cafe  http://www.eslcafe.com/

 

Writing

ABC’s of the Writing Process at: http://www.angelfire.com/wi/writingprocess/

Revision Techniques at: http://iteslj.org/Techniques/Coleman-WritingRevision.html

Online Writing Lab at: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

Citizenship

          U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services – Citizen resource center. http://www.uscis.gov/citizenship

          Citizenship Study Guide http://www.citizenshipstudyguide.com/

Tutor Resources

            Read Works  https://www.readworks.org/

            News ELA   https://newsela.com/

            Teach This   https://www.teach-this.com/

            Cooperative Learning  https://college.cengage.com/education/pbl/tc/coop.html#2

            Breaking News breakingnewsenglish.com

            Kagan Online  kaganonline.com/free_articles/

            Puzzles  puzzlemaker.discoveryeducation.com

            Logic of English  logicofenglish.com/resources

            Learning Resources  http://literacynet.org/learningresources/

            Softskills   http://www.softschools.com/